Editorial Team

Editor (Francophone)

Dr. Carole Fleuret has a bachelor’s degree in remedial education and a master’s degree and doctorate in teaching French from the Université de Montréal. She has done research on writing socialization, as well as on spelling and the study of the socio-cognitive and cultural components involved in the appropriation of second-language texts using approximate spellings and young adult literature.  She is interested in minority populations, multi-ethnic and plurilingual communities and an intercultural approach.  She is a researcher with the CNRS Praxiling Laboratory in Montpellier, France.

Co-Editors (Anglophone)

Dr. Jeannie Kerr is an educational philosopher, theorist and qualitative researcher of Irish maternal and Settler identity. As an Associate Professor at Simon Fraser University, she engages intersections of history, philosophy, and sociology in bringing greater understanding to educational complexities. Her scholarship examines the reproduction of societal inequalities in K-12, teacher education, and higher education settings, and is directed towards collaboratively repairing and renewing relations in educational settings, urban landscapes, and Canadian society.


Dr. Ee-Seul Yoon is an Associate Professor in the areas of Educational Administration, Leadership, and Policy at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Yoon’s scholarship is interdisciplinary, drawing from sociology, geography, and critical policy studies. Her research aims to better understand how the marketization and privatization of education impact equity, decolonization, and inclusion in the Canadian education systems. Her doctoral dissertation received the AERA Social Context of Education Division’s Distinguished Dissertation Award. Her SSHRC-funded post-doctoral work advanced a cutting-edge mixed-methods geospatial approach to understanding school choice inequity. Dr. Yoon is currently conducting two SSHRC-funded studies that spatially examine the multiple inequities facing diverse learners and school leaders in the era of neoliberalism and market-based reforms. To see her publication list, visit her Google Scholar Profile.

Book Reviews Editor (Francophone)

Dr. Samira ElAtia is an associate professor of education and the director of graduate studies of Faculté Saint‐Jean at the University of Alberta. She holds a PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana‐Champaign. She specializes in the evaluation of competencies; her research interests focus on issues of fairness in assessment. She is member of the board of directors of the Centre for Canadian Language Benchmarks in Ottawa. She has served on expert panels for several international testing agencies: Educational Testing Service in the United States, Pearson Education in the United Kingdom, the International Baccalaureate Organization, Chambre du commerce et de l’industrie of Paris, and the Centre international des études pédagogiques of the Ministry of Education in France. Her research areas of interest include language assessment, sociolinguistic bias in assessment, socio-political impact on language programs and language test development.

Book Reviews Editor (Anglophone)

Dr. Adam Adler is an Associate Professor of Music Education at Nipissing University in North Bay, Ontario; he taught previously at the University of Windsor, the Crane School Music (SUNY Potsdam) and in the Ontario public school system. His scholarly interests include narrative and arts-based research, male gender in music education, and the economics of community music. He is the founding director of Near North Voices – North Bay’s University-Community Choir, and previously directed the Ford Motor Company Chorus (Dearborn), Crane Men’s Ensemble and Chorus (Potsdam), Just Singers (Toronto), the Hart House Singers (Toronto), and the Choir of Centenary United Church (Hamilton).

Managing Editor

Sharon Hu has been the Managing Editor for the CJE since 2019. She is an experienced instructional designer specializing in using media and interactive activities to create impactful online learning experiences. Sharon’s keen interest in using educational technologies to enhance the learning experience led her to work at UBC’s Faculty of Education, Fraser Health Authority and the BC Centre on Substance Use.

 Editorial Advisory Board

Dr. Melanie Brice, University of Regina (CASIE)

Dr. Sharon Wahl, Trent University (ACDE)

Dr. Michelle Forrest, Mount Saint Vincent University (CAFE/ACÉFÉ)

Dr. Catherine Hands, Brock University (CASEA/ACEAS)

Dr. Lindsay Herriot, University of Victoria (CASWE)

Cameron (Cam) Smith, University of Ottawa (CCGSE)

Dr. Jennifer Katz, University of British Columbia (CAEP/ACP)

Dr. Jeffrey MacCormack, University of University of Lethbridge (CAEP/ACP)

Dr. Sheryl MacMath, University of the Fraser Valley (CATE/ACFE)

Dr. Tess Miller, University of Prince Edward Island (CERA/ACCÉ)

Dr. Jacqueline Specht, Western University (CAEP/ACP)

Dr. Melody Viczko, Western University (CIESC)

Board of Consulting Editors

Dr. Seth Agbo, Lakehead University

Professeur Stéphane Allaire, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Prof. Alayne Armstrong, University of Regina

Professor Michael K. Barbour, College of Education Sacred Heart University Fairfield Connecticut

Dr. Lauren Bialystok, OISE, UT

Dr. John-Tyler Binfet, University of British Columbia, Okanagan

Dr. Fadila Boutouchent, University of Regina

Dr. Tanya Chichekian, Université de Sherbrooke

Dr. Megan Cotnam-Kappel, University of Ottawa

Dr. Sara Davidson, University of the Fraser Valley

Dr. Anthony Di Mascio, Bishop's University

Marc-André Éthier, Canada

Dr. Amanda Kelly Ferguson, McMaster University

Professor Philip Howard, McGill University Department of Integrated Studies

Dr. Michele Jacobsen, University of Calgary

Dr. Sandra Kouritzin, University of Manitoba

Dr. Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University

Dr. Dustin Louie, University of Calgary

Dr. Margaret Macintyre Latta, UBC Okanagan

Dr. Patrick Lewis, Faculty of Education, University of Regina

Dr. Chris Mattatall, University of Lethbridge

Dr. Graham P McDonough, University of Victoria

Dr. Heather Mcleod, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Dr. Sheryl MacMath, University of the Fraser Valley

Dr. Maia Morel, Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Dr. Julie Mueller, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Laura E Pinto, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Dr. Giuliano Reis, University of Ottawa

Professor Frédéric Saussez, Université de Sherbrooke

Dr. Vicki Squires, University of Saskatchewan

Professor Paul Stortz

Dr. Brenda Trofanenko, Acadia University

Dr. Sean Wiebe, University of Prince Edward Island

Dr. George Zhou, University of Windsor