Anarcho-Modernism

Toward a New Critical Theory In Honour of Jerry Zaslove

—Edited by Ian Angus

This volume is a collection of 38 pieces unified by a combination of the playful, primitive aesthetic of literary modernism with the anti-authoritarian, anarchist praxis of radical democratic politics. This bi-polar sensibility permeates the work of Jerry Zaslove, to whom the book is dedicated.

Yet even if this sensibility pervades the book, the ideas presented here are all animated by highly conflicting attempts to articulate rigorously the anarchomodernist stance, its literary forms and its political implications and values. In particular, all the contributors explore the fundamental tension that defines our new century—between bureaucratization and industrialization on the one hand, and the critical and autonomous individual on the other.

The five sections of the work focus on *The Industrialization of Culture; Literature* and Aesthetics; Public Education and Literacy; Human Rights and Politics; and Anarchism and Friendship.

Whatever holds together the anarchist solidarity represented in this collection, it isn't a "principle," a generality that is made to apply equally to all comers. It's a particular relation, an affinity, that perhaps can be approached through thinking about friendship as a utopia of the near, the particular and the concrete—not as a system of generalities for all. This guiding orientation is vital for the reconstruction of a critical theory adequate for our own time.

The contributors are all friends, colleagues and collaborators of Jerry Zaslove, many of whom, such as Russell Jacoby, Robin Blaser, Wayne Burns, Harvey Graff, David Kettler, Wold-Dieter Narr, Jeff Wall and Heribert Adam, are well established and widely recognized in their fields. There are also many newer authors included here whose work is sure to become equally well known over time.

Contributors

Heribert Adam • Ian Angus • Robin Blaser • Martin Blobel • Wayne Burns • Gerald J. Butler • Edward Byrne • Robert D. Callahan • Jim Chalmers • Ross Clarkson • Kath Curran • Richard Day • John Doheny • Stephen Duguid • Art Efron • David Goodway • Harvey J. Graff • Brian Graham • Patricia Kilsby Graham • Donald Grayston • Paul Green • Jane Harris • Russell Jacoby • Robert Hullot-Kentor • Paul Kelley • David Kettler • G.P. Lainsbury • Martha Langford • Ralph Maud • Kirsten McAllister • Tom McGauley • Tom Morris • Michael Mundhenk • Wolf-Dieter Narr • Richard Pinet • Derek Simons • Jennifer Simons • Peyman Vahabzadeh • Aaron Vidaver • Jeff Wall • David Wallace • Alan Whitehorn

TALON BOOKS P.O. Box 2076 Vancouver, BC V6B 353 tel: (604) 444-4889 • fax: (604) 444-4119 www.talonbooks.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE





Special Institute for the Humanities price with Talon Books: \$30 (tax and shipping included)

To order, send the form along with payment to:

Talon Books P.O. Box 2076 Vancouver, British Columbia Canada V6B 3S3

Telephone 604-444-4889 Fax 604-444-4119 Email talon@pinc.com

www.talonbooks.com

<u> </u>			
~			
Please send me copies of <i>Anarcho</i>			
Modernism: Toward a New Critical Theory at	Name		
the special Institute for the Humanities price of \$30 each.			
	Mailing Address		
A cheque or money order in Canadian funds			
(made payable to Talon Books) is enclosed.	City	Postal Code	